

Washington State Legislature

Honorable Senator Patty Murray Honorable Senator Maria Cantwell United States Senate

September 23, 2015

Dear Senators Murray and Cantwell:

We, the undersigned legislators from both the Washington State Senate and the Washington State House of Representatives, and representing both Democrats and Republicans, urge you to right a wrong by helping to resolve an egregious name issue on our federal lands.

In 2007 and 2008, the Washington State Board on Geographic Names voted unanimously to change the name of Coon Lake, a 15-acre lake located in the Stehekin Valley of the North Cascade mountain range, to Howard Lake. The state board acted to honor Wilson Howard, a Black prospector who staked mining claims around the lake 125 years ago.

In enacting the name change, the board recognized Howard's direct and historically significant contribution to the area, and removed any possibility that the former name represented a racial slur. The board also changed the name of the associated creek to Howard Creek. The name changes were advocated by a range of citizens, local residents and property owners, along with the Chelan County Board of Commissioners and the Chelan County Sheriff. Today our state recognizes Howard Lake as the lake's proper name in its maps and official records.

We are very disappointed to learn that the federal government has to date refused to ratify the state's decision – normally a pro-forma matter. Howard Lake lies within the Lake Chelan National Recreation Area, which is administered by the National Park Service (NPS). Since 2007, the NPS has steadfastly opposed the change from Coon Lake to Howard Lake, and has effectively blocked action within the U.S. Department of the Interior.

Today the NPS trail signs and maps in the North Cascades National Park point to "Coon Lake." In continuing to oppose the name change, the Park Service is failing to recognize Mr. Howard's historical contribution to the area and is perpetuating a geographic name that is widely seen as pejorative given its specific origin in this case.

The Sept. 10 article in Crosscut.com, "Racism and the public lands: the case of Coon Lake," describes in more detail the issues at stake in this situation. You may also refer to a story that aired on KUOW on the same topic.

This is particularly timely in the wake of the Obama administration's decision to change the name of Alaska's Mt. McKinley to Denali, to honor that state's native people.

We urge you to work with the administration and your colleagues to right this wrong, and align the federal government with Washington state's decision to change the name of Coon Lake, and make our national parks welcoming to all people.

Very truly yours,

Members of the Washington State Legislature

Copies to:

Representative Susan DelBene

Representative Rick Larsen

Representative Jaime Herrera Beutler

Representative Dan Newhouse

Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Representative Derek Kilmer

Representative Jim McDermott

Representative Dave Reichert

Representative Adam Smith

Representative Denny Heck

Senator Rosemary McAuliffe (D)

llunlis

Rosemany Mc Rubfle

1st Legislative District

Senator Bob Hasegawa (D)

Jaren Frager

11th Legislative District

Senator Marko Liias

21st Legislative District (D)

Senator Karen Fraser (D)

22nd Legislative District



Senator Christine Rolfes (D)

23rd Legislative District

Jannie Darneice

Senator Jeannie Darneille (D)

27th Legislative District

Dew Com an

Senator Steve Conway (D)

29th Legislative District

PAM ROACH

Senator Pam Roach (R)

31st Legislative District

Jeanne Robl-Welles Pramila Juganl

Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles (D)

36th Legislative District

Senator Pramila Jayapal (D)

37th Legislative District

Senator John McCoy (D)

38th Legislative District

Senator Kevin Ranker (D)

40th Legislative District



Senator Steve Hobbs (D)

44th Legislative District

Jamie () Lederson

Senator Jamie Pedersen (D)

43rd Legislative Pedersen

David Front

Senator David Frockt (D)

46th Legislative District

7145 134513

Senator Cyrus Habib (D)

48th Legislative District

Senator Annette Cleveland (D)

Indee (levelan

49th Legislative District

Dad Steff

Representative Derek Stanford (D)

1st Legislative District

Dui Morror

Representative Luis Moscoso (D)

1st Legislative District

Jac Shuik

Representative Joe Schmick (R)

9th Legislative District

Zack High

Representative Zack Hudgins (D)

11th Legislative District

Lieuan Cotty Siel

Representative Ortiz-Self (D)

21st Legislative District

SAARA

Representative Strom Peterson (D)

21st Legislative District

Chis ps. Reps

Representative Chris Reykdal (D)

22nd Legislative District

Representative Drew Hansen (D)

23rd Legislative District

Representative Sherry Appleton (D)

Sterry appleton

23rd Legislative District

Representative Jack Fey (D)

27th Legislative District



Representative Laurie Jinkins (D)

27th Legislative District

Did Mini

Representative Dick Muri (R)

28th Legislative District

Chitine Kittak

Representative Christine Kilduff (D)

28th Legislative District

Representative Sawyer (D)

29th Legislative District

Jude L. Kochnar

Representative Linda Kochmar (R)

30th Legislative District

Representative Carol Gregory (D)

30th Legislative District

Representative Drew Stokesbary (R)

31st Legislative District

Representative Ruth Kagi (D)

32nd Legislative District



Representative Tina Orwall (D)

33rd Legislative District



Representative Cindy Ryu (D)

32nd Legislative District

Mull

Representative Mia Gregerson (D)

33rd Legislative District

Joe 7-jajiton

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon (D)

34th Legislative District

Dan Driffey

Representative Dan Griffey (R)

35th Legislative District

Kemy Carly C

Representative Reuven Carlyle (D)

36th Legislative District

There Toniko Cantes

Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos

37th Legislative District

Representative Eric Pettigrew

37th Legislative District

Jacquele V Dohenson

Judy Clibbon

Representative June Robinson (D)

38th Legislative District

Representative Judy Clibborn (D)

41st Legislative District

Representative Brady Walkinshaw (D)

43rd Legislative District

Representative Jessyn Farrell (D)

46th Legislative District

Representative Gerry Pollet (D)

Geny Pollet

46th Legislative District

Representative Joan McBride (D)

48th Legislative District

Representative Jim Moeller (D)

Mull

49th Legislative District