Manchester Community College Academic Senate opposes the recent developments in transfer pathways for the following reasons:

- They require programs to change in ways that violate their academic integrity.
- They unduly limit the number and kind of courses required of any program, in violation of the spirit of the enabling legislation.
- They replace existing degrees.
- They limit student choice in where to transfer, overriding existing articulation agreements.
- They homogenize student experience with contempt for regional diversity and responsiveness to local community.
- They assume Community College is a place for certainty of purpose.
- They invalidate students who enroll in Community Colleges for purposes of exploration and enrichment, constraining them into either transfer or job-training pathways.
- They fail to recognize the value of education outside of degree attainment.
- They discard academic freedom from Community College faculty.
- They delegitimize faculty knowledge of our own disciplines.
- They place Community Colleges in a lower-tier position relative to our supposed equals at State Universities.
- They were drafted out of colleges' view and neglected to offer opportunity for comment.

We strongly urge the Board of Regents Academic and Student Affairs Committee to delay their scheduled March 13, 2015 vote on the Policy Statement on Associate Degrees TAP Pathways until all 17 campuses' academic senates have had a chance to review, discuss, and suggest modifications. This policy changes the Community College mission without even asking for our input. The original Transfer and Articulation Policy, approved by the Board of Regents on March 15, 2012, calls for "There shall be transfer associate degrees common to all of the Connecticut Community Colleges that shall include at least 30 credits of transferrable general education [...] and the remaining credits shall be articulated with degree programs at the Connecticut State Universities and Charter Oak State College." That should guide our work.

Academic Senate approved 3/5/15, Mehrdad Faezi, Chair of Academic Senate

Rebecca M. Townsend, Ph.D.
Jean Wynn, Ph.D.
Patrick M. Sullivan
Rae Strickland, Ed.D.
Andrew C. Sottile
Deborah Simmons, Ed.D.
Jana Sime
Lisa L. Sandoval
Francine Rosselli, Ph.D.
Eileen Roark, Ph.D.
Barbara Place
Maura O'Connor
Jonathan Morris, Ph.D.

Tanya Milner-Harlee, Ed.D.
Angelo Messore
Daniel Long
Robert G. Kagan
Lucy Anne Hurston
Edward Hogan
Martin J. Hart
Sharale Golding
Carolina Flores, D.M.A.
Barbara "Bobbi" Fox
Meghan K. Finley, Ph.D.
Kaarina Finegan
Paul Edelen, M.D.

David M. Dubiel
Jeanine M. DeRusha
Susan Classen-Sullivan
Alina C. Ciscel
Patricia Carrigan
David Caldwell
Linda Burk, Ph.D.
Robert Brandt
Timothy P. Boto
Susan Barzottini
Trent "T.J." Barber
Jody Bailey
Carla E. Adams