## MARK E. GREEN, M.D. SENATOR

22ND SENATORIAL DISTRICT
SUITE 4, LEGISLATIVE PLAZA
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243-0207

(615) 741-2374 - FAX: (615) 253-0193

Senate Chamber State of Tennessee 1<sup>ST</sup> <u>VICE-CHAIR</u> COMMERCE, LABOR

## MEMBER OF COMMITTEES

ENERGY, AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES STATE & LOCAL GOVERNMENT

May 16, 2016

Governor Bill Halsam 1<sup>st</sup> Floor, State Capitol Nashville, TN 37243

## The Honorable Bill Haslam:

Tennessee and her citizens truly are, as our state's slogan connotes, America at its best. Our commitment to Tennesseans' independence and God-given rights as respected by our United States Constitution and our State Constitution is never more precious than when we must serve as guardians of the freedoms and foundations that are continuously imperiled by our activist US Government.

Serving with you on behalf of our citizens, who elected us to dutifully represent our Tennessee values and principles, we write to you in support of our State joining our neighbors, in legal action if necessary opposing the Obama Administration's "decree" which denies the privacy rights of more than 99% of Tennesseans.

By circumventing the Congress, the courts and the American people, a sweeping directive has been issued based on little more than political correctness and a vastly expansive interpretation of Title VII and Title IX of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the law prohibiting sex discrimination in schools that receive federal funding amended in 1972. While noting that accommodation may be made for the transgender population which comprises only 0.3% of the US population regarding public restrooms, locker rooms and other shared facilities currently based on biological gender, the unconstitutional decree issued by the Obama Administration must not only be stopped, but exposed as a reckless post-constitutional approach to our government.

Public safety, however, is at the heart of this issue and is our duty within both the executive and legislative branches as the priority. While a microscopic group of individuals' demands accommodation, the opportunism that is created for criminal predators (not within the said group receiving preference) to access their unwilling prey –

women and children – is a certain consequence. The deviancy driving rapists and pedophiles has been dismissed and would most certainly impact and endanger a much larger segment of the public in an irrational fear of media criticism and opposition by a radical political activist subgroup.

Data shows nationally that nearly 300,000 women are raped annually, with TBI analysis just published in April documenting 2,732 cases of rape, forcible sodomy and sexual assault in Tennessee in 2015. As a state within a nation, founded upon the rule of law, the aim to protect citizens rather than unintentionally expose them to greater victimization must be our imperative.

As Governor of the great state of Tennessee and our partner in governing, we the undersigned appreciate your statement recognizing this action from the administration as heavy handed. We take this opportunity to share our view that the new guidance from the Department of Education and the President be of no legal force nor effect. We also request that you will do nothing to give it effect except in accordance with the law under the state and federal constitutions, which we are sworn to uphold.

Respectfully signed,

Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey

District 4

Bo Watson

District 11

Steve Southerland

Steve Southerland

District 1

Mark Norris

District 32

Bill Ketron

District 13

Randy McNally

District 5

Rusty Crowe

District 3

Mae Beavers

District 17

Jim Tracy District 14 Jack Johnson District 23

Dolores Gresham District 26 Ken Yager District 12

Brian Kelsey
District 31

Mike Bell
District 9

Bucky Massey District 6

Firell Haile

Ferrell Haile District 18 Janice Bowling District 16 Todd Gardenhire District 10

Jodd Dardenhine

Mark E. Green, MD District 22

Joey Hensley District 28

Frank Niceley District 8

John Stevens

District 24

Richard Briggs
District 7

Kerry Roberts District 25

Kury Robert

Ed Jackson District 27 Paul Bailey District 15