DARYL METCALFE, MEMBER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ROOM 144 MAIN CAPITOL PO BOX 202012 HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA, 17120-2012 PHONE: (717) 783-1707 FAX: (717) 787-4771

> E-mail: dmetcalf@pahousegop.com Website: RepMetcalfe.com

May 17, 2016

President Barack Obama The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Obama:

We are writing to express our extreme outrage at the legally spurious "Dear Colleague" letter issued jointly by the Department of Education and the Department of Justice on Friday, May 13, 2016 regarding the use of bathrooms by transgender students in public schools.

The issue of whether Title IX protects a student's gender identity has already been decided by a federal court in Pennsylvania. Title IX provides that educational programs cannot discriminate "on the basis of sex." In Johnson v. Univ. of Pittsburgh Com. Sys. of Higher Education, the federal court for the Western District Court of Pennsylvania found that Title IX's language did not provide a basis for a transgender status claim. The Court held that "Title IX and its implementing regulations *clearly permit* schools to provide students with certain sex-segregated spaces, including bathroom and locker room facilities, to perform certain private activities and bodily functions consistent with the individual's birth sex" (emphasis added). Relying on this rationale, the Court upheld the University of Pittsburgh's policy of separating bathrooms and locker rooms on the basis of birth sex under Title IX and the United States Constitution. An appeal of this decision was dismissed by the Third Circuit Court of Appeals on March 30, 2016.

The "Dear Colleague" letter is an unconstitutional intrusion by the federal government into an area that should be and is legally handled locally by school districts who best know their students and parents. At its core, the letter sacrifices the fundamental privacy rights associated with intimate bodily functions for millions of school students. Plainly, this directive will allow men to go into legally sex-separated bathrooms with young girls. The parents of these young girls are rightly concerned about your policy and its implications for their daughters' safety.

The fact that this directive mandates a change in already established law under Title IX with no regard for the legislative process is indefensible. It is the duty of Congress to address any changes in statutory law. The letter's threat to federal funding for public schools which do not comply with this unsupported directive is a deliberate attempt to circumvent the Constitutional legislative process and flies in the face of the very idea of a Constitutional Republic as envisioned by this country's founders. Art. I, § 1 of the United States Constitution ("All legislative Powers...shall be vested in a Congress of the United States.").

We urge the President to direct that the "Dear Colleague" letter be rescinded immediately.

Sincerely,

Hon. Daryl Metcalfe

Hon. Will Tallman

CRANBERRY TOWNSHIP MUNICIPAL BUILDING 2525 ROCHESTER ROAD, SUITE 201 **CRANBERRY TOWNSHIP, PA 16066** PHONE: (724) 772-3110 FAX: (724) 772-2922

> STATE GOVERNMENT COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN

House of Representatibes Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Harrisburg

DDM:gkb **CC: Congressional Delegation**



Hon. Kathy Rapp

List of those who signed the letter to the President:

Hon. Daryl Metcalfe Hon. Will Tallman Hon. Kathy Rapp Hon. Dave Reed Hon. Bryan Cutler Hon. Sandra Major Hon, Donna Oberlander Hon. William Adolph Hon. Brian Ellis Hon. Kerry Benninghoff Hon. Matthew Baker Hon. Stephen Barrar Hon. Stephen Bloom Hon. Karen Boback Hon. Rosemary Brown Hon. Martin Causer Hon. Becky Corbin Hon. Jim Cox Hon. Lynda Schlegel Culver Hon. Sheryl Delozier Hon. Russ Diamond Hon. George Dunbar Hon. Cris Dush Hon. Joe Emrick Hon. Eli Evankovich Hon. Garth Everett Hon. Mindy Fee Hon, Matt Gabler Hon. Mark Gillen Hon. Keith Gillespie Hon. Mauree Gingrich Hon. Robert Godshall Hon. Keith Greiner Hon. Seth Grove Hon. Marcia Hahn Hon. Adam Harris Hon. Doyle Heffley Hon. Susan Helm Hon. Tim Hennessey Hon. David Hickernell Hon. Kristin Phillips-Hill Hon. Rich Irvin Hon. R. Lee James Hon. Barry Jozwiak

Hon. Rob Kauffman Hon. Fred Keller Hon. Mark Keller Hon. Kate Klunk Hon. Jerry Knowles Hon. John Lawrence Hon. Harry Lewis Hon. John Maher Hon. David Maloney Hon. Jim Marshall Hon. Ron Marsico Hon. Kurt Masser Hon. John McGinnis Hon. Steven Mentzer Hon. Carl W. Metzgar Hon. Nick Miccarelli Hon. David Millard Hon. Brett Miller Hon. Dan Moul Hon. Mark Mustio Hon. Eric Nelson Hon. Tedd Nesbit Hon. Jason Ortitay Hon. David Parker Hon. John Payne Hon. Michael Peifer Hon. Scott Petri Hon. Jeff Pyle Hon. Thomas Quigley Hon. Jack Rader Hon. Mike Reese Hon. Mike Regan Hon. Brad Roae Hon. Greg Rothman Hon. Rick Saccone Hon. Tommy Sankey Hon. James Santora Hon. Stan Saylor Hon. Paul Schemel Hon. Justin Simmons Hon. Curtis Sonney Hon. Craig Staats Hon. Mike Tobash Hon. Marcy Toepel Hon. Jesse Topper Hon. Dan Truitt

Hon. Mike Vereb Hon. Judy Ward Hon. Ryan Warner Hon. Katharine Watson Hon. Parke Wentling Hon. Jeff Wheeland Hon. David Zimmerman