RESOLUTION 139 Anthony Lamar Smith

WHEREAS, Anthony Lamar Smith was born to Annie Denise Smith on May 19, 1987 in Saint Louis Missouri at St. Louis Regional Medical Center. Anthony was the first born child of Mrs. Smith. He had three siblings; Antonio Lavell Johnson Junior, Antwane Lamarco Johnson, Trevin De'Andre Johnson. Anthony and his brothers enjoyed playing sports with other neighborhood children; and

WHEREAS, Anthony attended Wesley House Association, Ashland Elementary, Farragut Elementary, Beaumont High, Roosevelt High School. He continued his education informally by feeding his love for reading books, traveling and making connections with local artist and musicians; and

WHEREAS, Anthony won many awards and trophies for his participation in sports at The St. Louis Boy's Club. He spent many days at the center playing football, basketball, swimming and racquet ball. He was well liked by his employer's, coaches and elders.

WHEREAS, Anthony gained employment at a local McDonald's restaurant as an assistant cashier working under the direction of his mother, Mrs. Annie Smith; and

WHEREAS, Anthony's dream was to become an artist and a professional clothing designer. He loved children and was looking forward to the positive life changes he was making in order to begin working with underserved children in his community. His love of the arts convinced him to change his life course so that he could accomplish his goals; and

WHEREAS, regrettably Anthony Lamar Smith lost his life on December 20 2011. His death has sparked a universal cry for justice and accountability throughout the City of St. Louis.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Aldermen of the City of St. Louis that we pause in our deliberations to remember Anthony Lamar Smith and we further direct the Clerk of this Board to spread a copy of this Resolution across the minutes of these proceeding and to prepare a memorial copy to the end that it may be presented at a time and place deemed appropriate by the Sponsor.

Introduced this 22nd day of September, 2017 by:

The Honorable John Collins-Muhammad, Alderman 21st Ward The Honorable Lewis E. Reed, President of the Board of Aldermen The Honorable Sharon Tyus, Alderwoman 1st Ward The Honorable Brandon Bosley, Alderman 3rd Ward The Honorable Samuel L. Moore, Alderman 4th Ward The Honorable Tammika Hubbard, Alderwoman 5th Ward The Honorable Christine Ingrassia, Alderwoman 6th Ward The Honorable John J. Coatar, Alderman 7th Ward The Honorable Stephen Conway, Alderman 8th Ward The Honorable Dan Guenther, Alderman 9th Ward The Honorable Sarah Wood Martin, Alderman 11th Ward The Honorable Megan E. Green, Alderwoman 15th Ward The Honorable Thomas Oldenburg, Alderwoman 16th Ward The Honorable Joseph Roddy, Alderman 17th Ward The Honorable Terry Kennedy, Alderman 18th Ward The Honorable Marlene E. Davis, Alderwoman 19th Ward The Honorable Cara Spencer, Alderwoman 20th Ward The Honorable Jeffrey L. Boyd, Alderman 22nd Ward

The Honorable Shane Cohn, Alderman 25th Ward The Honorable Frank Williamson, Alderman 26th Ward The Honorable Pam Boyd, Alderwoman 27th Ward The Honorable Heather B. Navarro, Alderwoman 28th Ward

Adopted this 22nd day of September, 2017 as attested by:

Board of Aldermen Board of Aldermen *Lewis E. Reed* President, Board of Aldermen