

# GOVERNOR ASA HUTCHINSON TRANSFORMING STATE GOVERNMENT

"This long-overdue and comprehensive reorganization effort will realign agencies to reflect a more modern and efficient way to operate state government without cutting any services. This will result in improved delivery of services and will ultimately save the state money and the taxpayer time. Additionally, as was the case in the creation of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security during my time as Undersecretary, all reorganization efforts will be implemented using existing resources and without adding any additional staff."

#### MY PROPOSED PLAN

Governor Hutchinson's proposal accomplishes six key objectives:

- The plan reduces the number of cabinet-level agencies by nearly 65 percent, from 42 to 15, without sacrificing any services.
- This reorganization assigns more than 200 boards and commissions to larger umbrella departments.
- It improves the delivery of services to Arkansas taxpayers by breaking down silos within state government.
- The plan improves management control throughout state government through the creation of the *Department of Transformation and Shared Services*.
- Agencies will maintain their independent services, where appropriate.
- This proposal will create savings for the state and taxpayers beginning in the FY 2021 budget through lease and rent savings, shared services, and a more responsive management approach, to name a few.



#### DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

**The Department of Agriculture** will remain largely the same and will include the Natural Resources Commission, the Grade A Milk Program Advisory Committee, and the Veterinary Medical Examining Board.

#### DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

**The Department of Commerce** will include Aeronautics, Workforce Services (DWS), Skills Development (OSD), Adult Education, Rehabilitation Services, Economic Development Commission (AEDC), Securities, Insurance, State Bank, Waterways Commission, Development Finance Authority (ADFA), and the Wine Producers Council.





#### DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

**The Department of Corrections** will include the Department of Correction (ADC), Department of Community Correction (ACC), Arkansas Parole Board, Sentencing Commission, Arkansas Correctional School System, State Council for Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision, and DFA: Criminal Detention Review Committee.

#### DEPARTMENT OF PARKS, HERITAGE, AND TOURISM

The Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism will combine the Department of Parks and Tourism with the Department of Arkansas Heritage. The Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism will also include the Capitol Zoning Commission and the State Library Board.





#### DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The Department of Education will include the Department of Education (ADE), the Department of Higher Education (ADHE), School for the Blind, School for the Deaf, MLK Commission, Career Education, DHSL AmeriCorps, and Pre-K: Arkansas Better Chance Program.

#### DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

The Department of Energy and Environment will include the Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ), Geological Survey, Public Service Commission (PSC), Oil and Gas Commission, and the Pollution, Control, and Ecology Commission.





#### DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION

The Department of Finance and Administration will include Coordination: of Finance Assessment Department and Administration (DFA) - Revenue Division, Finance and Budget Division, Tax Divisions; Management Services – Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC), Tobacco Control, Lottery, Racing, Motor Vehicle, Child Support Enforcement, and the Governor's Council on Developmental Disabilities.

#### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

The Department of Health will include the Department of Health (ADH), the Minority Health Commission, Health Services Permit Agency, the Surgeon General, the Kidney Commission, and all health-related boards and commissions.





#### DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

**The Department of Human Services** will remain largely the same and will include Medicaid Services, Drug Director, and Civilian Student Training Program (CSTP) from the Department of Military. The Pre-K: Arkansas Better Chance Program will be moved to the Department of Education.

#### DEPARTMENT OF INSPECTOR GENERAL

**The Department of Inspector General** will include the Office of Medicaid Inspector General, the Fair Housing Commission, and DFA: Internal Audit.





## DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING

**The Department of Labor and Licensing** will include the Department of Labor, the Workers Compensation Commission (AWCC), and the Occupational and Professional Licensing Boards and Commissions.

#### DEPARTMENT OF MILITARY

**The Department of Military** will remain the same. The Civilian Student Training Program will be moved to the Division of Youth Services at the Department of Human Services.





#### DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

The Department of Public Safety will include the Arkansas State Police (ASP), Emergency Management (ADEM), Crime Information Center (ACIC), the Crime Lab, the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy (ALETA), the Career Education Law Enforcement Support Office, Victims of Crime Assistance and Crime Victims Reparations Board, Prosecuting Coordinators Office, and various law enforcement safety boards.

### DEPARTMENT OF TRANSFORMATION AND SHARED SERVICES

The Department of Transformation and Shared Services will include the Department of Information Systems (DIS), Geographic Information Systems (GIS), the Office of Transformation, and these divisions of the Department of Finance and Administration: Employee Benefits, Building Authority (DBA), Office of State Procurement (OSP), and Personnel Management (OPM).



# 15

#### DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

**The Department of Veterans Affairs** will remain largely the same and will include the Arkansas Veterans Child Welfare Service.

These departments are constitutionally separate, independent, and are not cabinet level: Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN); Disability Determinations for Social Security Administration (SSD); Claims Commission; State Pension Plans including Arkansas Public Employees Retirement System (APERS), and Arkansas Teachers Retirement System (ATRS); Game and Fish Commission; Highway Commission; State Board of Election Commissioners; and Public Defenders Commission.