IN THE IMPEACHMENT BODY OF THE STUDENT SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

November 12th, 2019

Sen. BENJAMIN LIMA, Sen. MATTHEW DIAZ, Sen. CLAUDIA TIO, Sen. COLIN SOLOMON, and Sen. ZACHARIAH CHOU file the following resolution:

RESOLUTION

impeaching Michael Murphy, President of the Student Body, for malfeasance and abuse of power.

RESOLVED, that Michael Murphy, President of the Student Body, is impeached for malfeasance and abuse of power, and that the following article of impeachment be exhibited to the Trial Body of the Student Senate:

Article of impeachment exhibited by the Impeachment Body of the Student Senate in the name of itself and of the student body of the University of Florida, against Michael Murphy, President of the Student Body, in maintenance and support of its impeachment against him for malfeasance and abuse of power.

ARTICLE I

In the Fall Session of 2019, in his position of trust as President of the Student Body, as reflected by emails obtained by *The Independent Florida Alligator*, Mr. Murphy colluded with Trump Victory National Financial Consultant Caroline Wren to expend \$50,000 of mandatory student fees to further enrich Donald Trump, Jr., and Kimberly Guilfoyle through the ACCENT Speakers Bureau. By using student fees to advance his own expressed political beliefs at the expense of the inclusionary mission of ACCENT Speakers Bureau and Student Government writ large, Mr. Murphy not only endangered students marginalized by the speakers' white nationalist supporters, but also abused his power to advance a particular political party at the expense of the students he should represent. As stated by University of Florida Graduate Assistants United in an October 4, 2019 letter to ACCENT Speakers Bureau Chair Henry Fair, misusing student fees at the direction of Trump Victory constitutes compelled political speech in contravention of the Constitution of the United States.

Section 808.12 of the Student Body Statutes states that "No Activity and Service Fee funds allocated to Student Government funded organizations are to be expended on any of the following purchases... Expenditures in support of or against a political party at any level." The Trump Victory Committee is a joint venture between Donald Trump's reelection campaign, the Republican National Committee, and various other Republican electoral organizations. Emails obtained by *The Independent Florida Alligator* clearly demonstrate that the student fees were allocated after collaboration between Mr. Murphy and a Trump Victory representative, who is also an acquaintance of Mr. Murphy, took place.

Wherefore, Michael Murphy, President of the Student Body, by such conduct, is guilty of malfeasance and abuse of power warranting removal from office.

Respectfully Submitted,

Brendan Wernisch Sparsha Muralidhara Samantha Hsu Sahil Patel Zachary Amrose Niccole Smith Michael Hoffman Chase Werther Barry McCochiner Jaiden Patel Shane Malone Elaine Danielson Kian Bagherlee Caroline Glynn Chloe Kelley Ashley Sepulveres Nick Mesa Eva Bayer Ethan Glogau Sebastian Tirado-Vélez Spencer Gorelick Ashley Grabowski Lauren Vu Leigh Kassem Troy Okum Anh Le Yashasvi Bhat Saahil Naik Emma Schoenfeld Jordan Brown Nathan Barkdull

Ethan Lomio Barbara Sanchez Krystell Fienco Quoc-Thong Phan Zachary Roberts Sami Manausa Elizabeth Wilson **Briana Harris** Jasmin Du Bois Emma Sanchez Bruce Glasserman Jason Silveira Sebastiano Cocco Emily Hyden Eliana Guerrero Amy Xie Maria Dominguez Alanis Gonzalez Rose Gorora Vibhor Nayar Cassidy Haigh Nik Kaufman Hannah Liter Laura Robles-Torres Collin Ulmer Jamie Breit **Tobie Perkins** Emma Schulman Ryan Wilder Steven Orban Jeremy O'Brien

Alessio Casamento Isabella Paretti Melody Castillo Alex Zawadzki Katharine Frey Anja Rmus Tyler Renfroe Philomena Thomas Fuad Shatara Harshit Marwah Helmut Carter **Emily Hickey** Devon Philip Zoe Nevins Kyle Kipple Ally Valenti Oketa Basha Benjamin Lima Zachariah Chou Matthew Diaz Claudia Tio Colin Solomon Stephanie Beltran Angel Silva Santiago Clavijo-Gomez Isabella Garcia Sana Nimer Kristen Jackson Shawn Zimmer Dylan Attlesey Skylar McIlvanie

Youri Chang Layla Slate Caroline Pope Erick Chavez Janine Hall Kaley Arboleda Ronan Hart Arlette Garcia Taylor Rohleen Ariel Johnson Stephanie Reas Kevin McMahan Veronica Sandoval Julia Saffer-D'Anna