VANESSA E. ATTERBEARY Legislative District 13 Howard County

Vice Chair

Judiciary Committee

Subcommittees Chair, Public Safety

Chair Howard County House Delegation

April 2, 2020

To the Honorable Governor of Maryland,

My fellow legislators and I wish to thank you for your outstanding leadership during this unprecedented state of emergency. Marylanders are looking to you for guidance in this challenging time. Further guidance we think is needed, when assuring the safety of Maryland's already vulnerable populations.

The ability of gun stores to remain open during this pandemic is worrisome for many Marylanders. Less than two weeks ago, a long line extended outside and around the corner of a gun store in Silver Spring. It is alarming to see Marylanders stockpiling weapons in such a state of emergency. Maryland has seen a surge in the purchase of guns and ammunition during this time of crisis.

Guns are not essential to solving this pandemic, nor will they make people safer. At this time, guns are only hurting vulnerable populations- victims of domestic violence and individuals already prone to suicide are most at risk. Marylanders are home, tensions are high, every Marylander is eager to save lives; however, gun stores remain open creating fear for our most vulnerable citizens.

Pursuant to Public Safety Article 14-303, you have the ability to close these stores. Should you choose not to close gun stores, in light of the recent directive from the federal Department of Homeland Security, we ask that you join our neighboring states and require an appointment during limited business hours, for individuals who choose to purchase guns at this time.

The increased sales of guns in recent weeks is disturbing. Marylanders need to be encouraged to fight this pandemic with hygiene and social distancing rather than with guns.

Sincerely Yours,

Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary Delegate Heather Bagnall Delegate Darryl Barnes Delegate Ben Barnes Delegate Erik Barron

Senator Sarah Elfreth Senator Brian Feldman Senator Guy Guzzone Senator Shelly Hettleman Senator Susan Lee Senator Jim Rosapepe Senator Will Smith Senator Jeff Waldstriecher Senator Mary Washington



The Maryland House of Delegates 6 Bladen Street, Room 101 Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3471 · 301-858-3471 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3471 *Fax.* 410-841-3438 · 301-858-3438 Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us

THE MARYLAND HOUSE OF DELEGATES Annapolis, Maryland 21401 Delegate Sandy Bartlett

Delegate Lisa Belcastro

Delegate Ben Brooks

Delegate Jon Cardin

Delegate Al Carr

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian

Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield

Delegate Davis Dereck

Delegate Fennell Diana

Delegate Kathleen Dumais

Delegate Eric Ebersole

Delegate Jessica Feldmark

Delegate Wanika Fisher

Delegate Terri Hill

Delegate Michael Jackson

Delegate Anne Kaiser

Delegate Arianna Kelly

Delegate Marc Korman

Delegate Carol Krimm

Delegate Robbyn Lewis

Delegate Jazz Lewis

Delegate Karen Lewis-Young

Delegate Brooke Lierman

Delegate Lesley Lopez

Delegate Sara Love

Delegate Maggie McIntosh

Delegate David Moon

Delegate Julie Palakovich-Carr

Delegate Edith Patterson

Delegate Josephine Peña-Melnyk

Delegate Shane Pendergrass

Delegate Kirill Reznik

Delegate Sheila Ruth

Delegate Emily Shetty

Delegate Jared Solomon Delegate Jen Terrasa Delegate Veronica Turner Delegate Kris Valderrama Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith Delegate Stewart Vaughn Delegate Alonzo Washington Delegate Courtney Watson Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Nicole Williams

cc:

Matthew Clark, Chief of Staff to the Governor Keiffer Mitchell, Chief Legislative Officer Cara Sullivan, Deputy Legislative Officer