## SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

LISA JAMES, a qualified elector and taxpayer; MERILEE FOWLER, a qualified elector and taxpayer; TODD GRIFFITH, a qualified elector and taxpayer; DR. EDWARD GOGEK, a qualified elector and taxpayer; PAUL SMITH, a qualified elector and taxpayer; DR. DALE GUTHRIE, a qualified elector and taxpayer; and SALLY SCHINDEL, a qualified elector and taxpayer	<pre>) Arizona Supreme Court ) No. CV-20-0226-AP/EL ) ) Maricopa County ) Superior Court ) No. CV2020-008460 ) ) ) ) )</pre>
Plaintiffs/Appellants,	) ) ) <b>FILED 08/20/2020</b>
V .	)
KATIE HOBBS, in her capacity as Arizona Secretary of State,	)
Defendant/Appellee,	)
and	, ) )
SMART AND SAFE ARIZONA, a political action committee,	) )
Real Party in Interest/Appellee.	, ) )
	-

## ORDER

The Court en banc has considered the briefs and authorities in this expedited election appeal concerning the "Smart and Safe Arizona Act" (the "Initiative"), serial number I-23-2020, a ballot initiative proposing to legalize recreational marijuana. The trial court concluded the 100-word summary accurately described the proposition under A.R.S. § 19-102(A) and denied Petitioners' request to enjoin the Secretary of State from including the Initiative on the 2020 general election ballot.

Upon consideration, the Court unanimously affirms the judgment of the trial court.

Arizona Supreme Court No. CV-20-0226 AP/EL Page 2 of 2

**IT IS ORDERED** affirming the trial court's judgment denying injunctive relief. The Secretary of State will proceed under Title 19, Arizona Revised Statutes, to include the ballot initiative in the general election publicity pamphlet and to place it on the general election ballot.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED denying Appellee Smart and Safe Arizona's Motion to Dismiss and request for attorneys' fees.

DATED this  $20^{th}$  day of August, 2020.

\_\_\_\_/S/\_\_\_\_ ROBERT BRUTINEL Chief Justice

TO:

John D Shedeqq Eric E Lynch Kara Karlson Dustin Romney Roopali H Desai D Andrew Gaona Marvin C Ruth Kristen M Yost Hon. James D Smith Hon. Jeff Fine Kory A Langhofer Thomas J Basile Sean Gallagher Timothy LaSota David Euchner Jared G Keenan