## SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

RASEAN CLAYTON,	)	Arizona Supreme Court
	)	No. CV-20-0249-AP/EL
Plaintiff/Appellee,	)	
	)	Maricopa County
V.	)	Superior Court
	)	No. CV2020-010553
KANYE WEST, et al.,	)	
	)	
Defendants/Appellants.	)	FILED 09/08/2020
	)	
	)	

## DECISION ORDER

The Court, by a panel consisting of Vice Chief Justice Timmer, Justice Bolick, Justice Lopez and Justice Montgomery, considered the briefs of the parties, the trial court's rulings, and the relevant statutes and case law in this expedited election matter.

The trial court entered an Order for Temporary and Permanent Injunctive Relief (With Notice) on September 3, 2020 enjoining the Arizona Secretary of State and the county boards of supervisors and county recorders from authorizing or causing defendant candidate Kanye West to appear on the ballot for president and also enjoining the defendant presidential electors from appearing as candidates for the office of presidential electors on the ballot for the general election. The court further enjoined the Secretary of State from accepting any nomination petitions from Candidate and/or his presidential electors.

The Court finds that defendants seeking to qualify as presidential electors failed to comply with A.R.S. § 16-341(I), which

Arizona Supreme Court Case No. CV-20-0249-AP/EL Page 2 of 3

requires candidates for office to file a statement of interest with the appropriate filing officer for that office. Under that statute, "Any nomination petition signatures collected before the date of the statement of interest are invalid and subject to challenge." "Consequently, Defendant West has failed to qualify for the ballot." Therefore,

**IT IS ORDERED** affirming the trial court and enjoining the Secretary of State, county boards of supervisors and county recorders from placing defendant Kanye West and his designated presidential electors on the ballot for the November 3, 2020 general election.

An opinion will follow.

DATED this 8th day of September, 2020.

\_\_\_\_\_/s/\_\_\_\_ ANN A. SCOTT TIMMER Vice Chief Justice Arizona Supreme Court Case No. CV-20-0249-AP/EL Page 3 of 3 TO: Mary R O'Grady Joseph N Roth Joshua David Rothenberg Bendor Timothy A LaSota Timothy J Berg Kara Karlson Dustin D Romney Joseph Young Christine Roberts Rose Winkeler Jefferson R Dalton Kenneth A Angle Jeremy O Ford Ryan Norton Dooley Joseph Eugene La Rue Andrea L Cummings Matthew J Smith Ryan Henry Esplin Bradley W Carlyon Jason S Moore Barbara LaWall Daniel S Jurkowitz Craig C Cameron Charlene A Laplante Kimberly J Hunley Matthew Black Jon R Smith William J Kerekes Edward P Feheley Hon M Scott McCoy Hon Jeff Fine